Chamber Music Continues at OU With Kyōdai Brass Quintet

Photo Credit: Courtesy Photo
Photo Credit: Courtesy Photo

The newly launched Chamber Music Society of Detroit at Oakland University series continues Sunday, Feb. 9 at 3 p.m. with the Kyōdai Brass Quintet. The concert takes place at Varner Recital Hall on the Oakland University Campus. Kyōdai (“Brothers”) Brass was formed at the Cleveland Institute of Music by two sets of musical brothers: Conrad, Gary and Douglas Jones (trumpet, trombone and tuba), and Hayato and Hirofumi Tanaka (trumpet and horn), and is known for its eclectic programming and exciting performances. 

The series is presented in partnership with Oakland University’s Department of Music, Theatre and Dance. Oakland University campus maps and directions are available online at www.oakland.edu/map.


Michael Praetorius: Dance Suite from "Terpsichore"                      

  • Jacob Druckman:     Dances with Shadows (1989)  
  • Viktor Ewald:           Quintet No. 2 in E-flat major, Op. 6
  • Collier Jones:           Four Movements for Five Brass
  • Moondog:                Rounds 1 & 2 in SnakeTime 


General admission tickets, priced at $20 and $10 for students with ID, are available from the Chamber Music Society of Detroit by phone at 248-855-6070 or online at www.ChamberMusicDetroit.org. Tickets are also available through Oakland University at (248) 370-2030, and at the box office day of concert.

Courtesy of the Chamber Music Society of Detroit


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »